SanFranciscoGolfer.com
Member Log-in Sign Up Now!
Username: Password: Forgot Password?

 
Home | Golfing Events | Discount Golf
Public Courses (By City) | Public Course (By Name) | Public Course (By Price) | Course Reviews | Hole By Hole Reviews | Vote For Best Courses
Equipment Reviews | Golf Tips | Ask The Pros | Interviews | Golf Stories | Book Reviews
Personal Home Page | Manage Your Account | Check Email | Golf Handicap Tracker | Access Blogs
Golf Blog Home | Golf Story Blog | Golf Course Blog | Golf Tip Blog | Golf News Blog | Golf Travel Blog | Golf Equipment Blog
Book Golf Tee Times
Submit Listing | Homes Under $300K | Homes From $301 to 500K | Homes Over $500K
Find A Partner | Member Ads | Create Ads
    Golf Tee Times in San Francisco, California
AskThePros

Sandy Leach

by Q: Hitting a penalty marker, what are the rul


Q: I recently played a hole that had a flag marking the beginning of a water hazard that cut across the fairway. My second shot hit the flag and deflected into the water. Is it a normal penalty stroke and drop?   - Thanks,
Robby

A: Dear Robby,
If your ball comes to rest in the water hazard after being deflected by the flag, it is considered a rub of the green and the ball shall be played as it lies. You must now proceed under Rule 26-1, Ball In Water Hazard (unless the course has stated differently in their local rules).

Remember, there are several options under this rule on how you proceed. You must decide which option best works for you.

Thanks for your question, I respect those golfers that play by the rules.
Sincerely,
- Sandy Leach, Head Pro, formely @ Marietta CC

About Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Contact Us | © 1997-2013 Golfbits Publishing Co.